NUJ set to honour media chieftains, others

Spread the love

‏…As Gov. Sanwo-Olu counsels journalists on 2023 election

By Ray Ugochukwu

All is now set for the first ever Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) celebration of living media proprietors and other individuals who have contributed to the growth and development of journalism in the country.

In a statement from the Abuja national headquarters dated November 26, 2022, the NUJ explained that the event tagged, Milestone Recognition of Media Icons, was unique in its originalty.



“Unlike other awards, the Milestone Recognition of Media Icons, being organised in conjunction with the Lagos State Council of NUJ, is unique in its originality and is targeted at media owners and some seasoned journalists who have distinguished themselves in the industry”.

According to the statement signed by Mr. Awosanya Olayide, the event, billed for the Banquet Hall, Muson Centre, Onikan, Lagos, on December 8, 2022, by 5.30pm would have the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, as the Chief Host/Guest Speaker.

Media gurus listed for honour include Prince Sam Amuka-Pemu, Publisher, Vanguard Newspapers; Aremo Olusegun Osoba, former Governor of Ogun State; Chief Nduka Obaigbena, Publisher/Chairman, ThisDay Newspapers and Arise TV; High Chief Raymond Dokpesi, Chairman Emeritus, Daar Communication; Dr. John Momoh, Chief Executive Officer, Channels Media Group; Mallam Kabir Yusuf, Chairman, Trust Media Limited; Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu, Founder, The Sun Newspapers, among others.


Chairman of the Organising Committee of the event, Otunba Gbenga Onayiga, explained in Lagos that these topflight media personalities were to be honoured for their immense contributions to the development of journalism and the empowerment of media professionals in the country, the statement added.

“Having created and sustained employment for journalists over the years, our union has deemed it fit to encourage the recipients and other media professionals and entrepreneurs to invest in the industry,” Onayiga was quote as saying.

Other seasoned journalists and media entrepreneurs penciled down for recognition include the Kano State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, who was also a former President of NUJ, Mallam Mohammed Garba; the Chief Executive Officer, Independent Communication Network Limited, Mr.Bayo Onanuga; Chairman, Editorial Board of Penpushing and former Chairman,Lagos NUJ, Mrs Funke Fadugba.

Chris Isiguzo, NUJ President

Others are former Managing Director of Champion Newspapers, Mr.Emma Agu and Alhaji Mohammed Idris Malagi, Publisher, Blueprint Newspapers. The Inspector General of Police, Usman Alkali Baba, the statement added, would also be honoured for his giant
strides in curbing rights violation since assuming office.

Similarly, according to the NUJ, Mr. Buki Ponle, Managing Director of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN); Mrs.Yemi Kolapo, Publisher/Managing Director, The Point Newspapers & Director General of Governor Yahaya Bello(GYB) Media Organisation as well as Mr John Ajayi, Publisher of Marketing Edge Magazine are also shortlisted for the award.

The Milestone Recognition of Media Icons initiative is designed to encourage top professionals to sustain the tempo and prop up the budding ones not to be discouraged by the current economic and professional challenges.

Governor Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, who would speak on “The Role of the Media in the 2023 General Election”, will also be honoured for his media-friendly disposition, the statement further added.

According to the organisers, the event would have in attendance no fewer than 300 guests from different walks of life, including journalists drawn from across the country, who will join their Lagos counterparts, for the unique occasion.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *