Maritime workers strengthen ties with LNG Ship Management

Spread the love

By Ray Ugochukwu

History was made Thursday as the Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) hosted Nigeria LNG Ship Management Limited (NLSML) led by the Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer, Mallam Abdul-Kadir Ahmed, which was on its maiden official visit to the Union.

According to Ahmed, the courtesy visit to the Osho Drive, Olodi, Apapa, Lagos headquarters of MWUN was to strengthen the already existing relationship between the two organisations.

Ahmed (l) and Adeyanju exchanging gifts during the visit

Again, stated the NLSML boss, the team was there to congratulate the President General of the Union, Comrade Adewale Adeyanju, for his election as the First Deputy President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), which took place recently.

Most significantly, the visit also had something to do in the area of the Union’s members, who are seafarers in the employ of the NLSML with very obvious cognisance to their Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA), which would commence soon.

Consequently, Ahmed assured the Union that he would continue to come to the table with issues of mutual benefits with the Union at all times and its seafarers in his organization’s employ.

In his reaction, Comrade Adeyanju, who was highly elated with the visit, said that the NLSML boss and his team’s visit to the Union had shown that he was indeed a grassroot administrator of repute, who had immensely transformed the NLSML to standard.

He added that the visit was timely and of utmost importance to both parties, even as the duo agreed to keep the good relationship they had had since inception and promised each other of total transparency and mutual cooperation in all fronts.

More exchange of gifts by the two CEOs

This, both parties agreed, was to strike a balanced success in the maritime sector and the welfare of the seafarers in general.

Comrade Adeyanju received the visitors in company of his executive members including, Comrades Francis Bunu, Deputy President General; Abudu Eroje, Deputy Secretary General, Organising; and Abubakar Bello, Vice President General.

Others were Comrades Ohize, President, Dockworkers; Avoseh Sunday, President, Seafarers; Uche Igweonu, National Treasurer; Edwin Sambo, Deputy Secretary General, Admin; Ayokunle Ajayi, General Secretary, Seafarers; and John Kennedy Ikemefuna, Head, Media MWUN.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *